Two Runoffs Highlight City Council Races | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

Two Runoffs Highlight City Council Races

De’Keither Stamps is in a runoff for the Ward 4 Jackson City Council seat.

De’Keither Stamps is in a runoff for the Ward 4 Jackson City Council seat. Photo by Jacob Fuller


Four of Jackson's seven sitting City Council members have, for all intents and purposes, been re-elected, but two seats have yet to be decided headed into the May 21 primary runoff elections.

In Ward 5, incumbent Charles Tillman got 40 percent of the vote and faces a runoff with his predecessor Bettye Dagner-Cook, who received 19 percent of the vote in the primary.

The Ward 4 race for the seat vacated by former mayoral hopeful Frank Bluntson is down to schoolteacher Derrick Trimble and former military police officer De'Keither Stamps.

Ward 1 Councilman Quinton Whitwell ran unopposed, Ward 3 Councilwoman LaRita Cooper-Stokes won with 53 percent of the vote, City Council President Tony Yarber, representing Ward 6, won 82 percent of the vote, and Ward 7 Councilwoman Margaret Barrett-Simon earned 75 percent in her ward.

Stokes faces a Republican challenger, Ponto Ronnie Downing, June 4. Barrett-Simon will face Republican Marcus Coleman.

Attorney Melvin Priester Jr. swept the Ward 2 race away from four other candidates, claiming 65 percent of the vote to win easily. He will not face a Republican in the general election.

Thanks to all our new JFP VIPs!

COVID-19 has closed down the main sources of the JFP's revenue -- concerts, festivals, fundraisers, restaurants and bars. If everyone reading this article gives $5 or more, we should be able to continue publishing through the crisis. Please pay what you can to keep us reporting and publishing.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus