9 Enter Mississippi Senate Race to Succeed Harden | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

9 Enter Mississippi Senate Race to Succeed Harden

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Nine candidates are running for a state Senate seat in part of Hinds County.

They're competing to succeed Democrat Alice Harden, who died in December.

The special election is Feb. 5, with a runoff Feb. 26.

The candidates are Cindy Ayers-Elliot, Tamarra Grace Butler, Marshand Crisler, Sollie B. Norwood, Antonio Porter, James "Jimmy" Stewart, Kathy L. Sykes, Tommy L. Wallace II and Cassandra Welchlin.

Candidates in special elections run without party labels.

Harden was a former educator. In 1987, she became the first black woman elected to the Mississippi Senate. She served until her death at age 64.

Copyright Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Support our reporting -- Follow the MFP.