College Football: Major Surprise In Conerly | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

College Football: Major Surprise In Conerly

Millsaps quarterback Juan Joseph pulled one of the biggest upsets in Mississippi sports history Tuesday when he won the Conerly Trophy. Joseph is the first player from an NCAA Division III school to win the annual award for the state's best college football player. Joseph beat Ole Miss players Peria Jerry and Michael Oher. Joseph led the Majors to 11-1 record and the quarterfinals of the playoffs.

In case you've forgotten, Joseph was the JFP's Jacksonian in the Aug. 20 college football preview issue.

Support our reporting -- Become a JFP VIP.

The news business has changed dramatically in the past year, and we need your help more than ever to keep bringing you important stories about Jackson and the Metro. Become a JFP VIP with an annual membership or you can Sign up as a monthly supporter. Thanks for anything you can do to empower our journalism!


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus