THE WALKMEN's new album Drops | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

THE WALKMEN's new album Drops

Today Record Collection proudly releases THE WALKMEN's new album A Hundred Miles Off

with a full national US tour kicking off. "A Hundred Miles Off...is the Walkmen's best yet"
- ELLE "The Walkmen's third full-length proves this is a band for the ages. Joining a post-motorcycle-crash Dylan vocal delivery with a Springsteenian of-the-streets spirit, whiskey-soaked singer Hamilton Leithauser leads his band through a set of rousing, sharply focused, late-night pleas and barroom romps that take the group well beyond its garage roots."
- BILLBOARD

"Opener 'Louisiana' imagines Bob Dylan fronting the Velvet Underground..."
- TIME OUT NY

"NYC's finest deliver superb performances...tight as hell"
- WIRED

Today marks the release of The Walkmen's third studio album, A Hundred Miles Off. The follow up to 2004's critically acclaimed Bows & Arrows was recorded over the course of two years at the band's Marcata Studios in New York and Inner Ear Studios near Washington, D.C.

A Hundred Miles Off is without a doubt our most solid effort yet," says singer/guitarist Hamilton Leithauser, "After touring for so long, we couldn't write songs for the longest time. We went back to Inner Ear Studios in DC where I used to work and worked with our old friend Don Zientara (Bad Brains, Nation of Ulysses, Fugazi). We really got things going last summer, and we spent all fall and the holidays writing, recording and traveling between DC and NY. We finished it up at Marcata--our place in Harlem--this January. We're all sure it's the best record we've done so far."

THE WALKMEN

Wed, May 24 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Thu, May 25 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri, May 26 - Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Tue, May 30 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Wed, May 31 - Detroit, MI @ St Andrews Hall
Thu, Jun 1 - Chicago, IL @ Metro
Fri, Jun 2 - Milwaukee, WI @ Miramar Theatre
Sat, Jun 3 - Minneapolis, MN @ 400 Bar
Mon, Jun 5 - Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theater
Tue, Jun 6 - Salt Lake City, UT @ In The Venue
Thu, Jun 8 - Portland, OR @ Berbati's Pan
Fri, Jun 9 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox
Sat, Jun 10 - Vancouver, BC @ Richards on Richards
Mon, Jun 12 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Tue, Jun 13 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Wed, Jun 14 - Pomona, CA @ Glass House
Thurs, Jun 15 - Los Angeles, CA @ The El Rey
Fri, Jun 16 - San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
Sat, Jun 17 - Tempe, AZ @ The Clubhouse
Mon, Jun 19 - Austin, TX @ La Zona Rosa
Tue, Jun 20 - Houston, TX @ Numbers
Wed, Jun 21 - Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater
Fri, Jun 23 - Nashville, TN @ Exit/In
Sat, Jun 24 - Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall
Sun, Jun 25 - Cincinnati, OH @ Sawyer Point Park w/ Desdemona Festival
Tue, Jun 27 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Wed, Jun 28 - Monteal, QC @ La Tulipe
Thu, Jun 29 - Boston, MA @ Avalon

http://www.marcata.net/walkmen/

Thanks to all our new JFP VIPs!

COVID-19 has closed down the main sources of the JFP's revenue -- concerts, festivals, fundraisers, restaurants and bars. If everyone reading this article gives $5 or more, we should be able to continue publishing through the crisis. Please pay what you can to keep us reporting and publishing.

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus