On October 24th, Saddle Creek will release Noise Floor, a collection of Bright Eyes singles, one-offs, unreleased tracks, collaborations and covers recorded between 1998 and 2005. Variously recorded to cassette four-track, minidisc, reel-to-reel tape machine, ADAT and computer, these songs trace Bright Eyes' evolution from basement project to band of international repute. Many of these gems previously lost to out-of-print obscurity are hereby resurrected.

News of this release should thrill fans eagerly awaiting the follow up to 2005's breakthrough albums: I'm Wide Awake It's Morning & Digital Ash In A Digital Urn. 2006 has been a comparatively quiet year for Conor Oberst + co. There were no US or European tours, although the Canadians were treated to a lengthy tour in the early part of the summer, and the band made a couple of blistering festival appearances - Bonnaroo and their own free concert at Memorial Park in Omaha on June 17th. The comparative inactivity has allowed Conor and producer Mike Mogis to spend much of the year in the studio, recording in such exotic locales as New York City, Portland, Oregon and Lincoln, Nebraska. The Bright Eyes line-up for the new record includes full-timers Conor, Mike and Nate Walcott, as well as guest appearances from Janet Weiss of Sleater-Kinney and the wonderful Gillian Welch. Fans will have to wait until Spring of 2007 for the next proper full-length. In the meantime, brush up on your Bright Eyes chronology:

01 Mirrors and Fevers (Don't Be Frightened of Turning The Page EP- 2000)
02 I Will Be Grateful for this Day (Sub Pop Singles Club – 2001)
03 Trees Get Wheeled Away (Lost & Found, Volume 1 – 2003)
04 Drunk Kid Catholic (3 Hit Songs From Bright Eyes – UK single – 2003)
05 Spent on Rainy Days (Home series on Post Parlo Records – 2002)
06 The Vanishing Act (Too Much Of A Good Thing 7" – 1999)
07 Soon You Will Be Leaving Your Man (Motion Sickness 7" – 2000)
08 Blue Angels Air Show (DIW cover mount 7" – 2002)
09 Weather Reports (Unreleased 7" with M.Ward)
10 Seashell Tale (Unreleased 7" with M.Ward)
11 Bad Blood (Album Leaf 7" split – 2001)
12 Amy in the White Coat (vinyl only b-side No Beginning To The Story EP – 2002)
13 Devil Town (The Late Great Daniel Johnston – 2004)
14 I've Been Eating (for You) (3 New Hit Songs From Bright Eyes – UK single – 2001)
15 Happy Birthday To Me (Feb. 15) (3 New Hit Songs From Bright Eyes – UK single – 2001)
16 Motion Sickness (7" – 2000)

17 Act Of Contrition (Second Thoughts compilation – 2000)
18 Hungry For A Holiday (Album Leaf 7" – 2001)
19 When The Curious Girl Realizes She Is Under Glass Again (Sub Pop singles club - 2001)
20 Entry Way Song (Amos House Vol 2 – 2002)
21 It's Cool, We Can Still Be Friends (Transmission One: Tea At The Palaz of Hoon – 2000)

Support our reporting -- Follow the MFP.