Public Radio and ETV Election 2003 Coverage | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

Public Radio and ETV Election 2003 Coverage

Do you know who's who in this year's election race? Are you interested in hearing what the candidates have to say about the issues that affect the state of Mississippi? Join the public television and radio stations of the Mississippi Broadcasting Networks (MSBN) for
complete election coverage of the Democratic and Republican candidates vying for the five statewide offices in Mississippi.

Tune in to the MSBN public radio stations to hear four one-hour gubernatorial debates with incumbent Democrat candidate, Ronnie Musgrove and Republican candidate, Haley Barbour.

Monday, September 29 at 7 p.m. Jackson (Produced by WLBT-TV3)

Mark your calendar Tuesday, November 4 for live, continuous general
election coverage with hosts Randy Bell, Gene Edwards and Marty Wiseman
beginning at 7 p.m. The public radio stations of the Mississippi
Broadcasting Networks will bring you up-to-the-minute election results and
talk live with candidates and special guests throughout the evening.

In partnership with the League of Women Voters, Statewide Live will
focus on the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, State
Treasurer and Agriculture Commissioner races leading up to the November 4
general election.

Thursday, October 2 at 6:30 p.m. Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce

Incumbent Lester Spell (D) and Max Phillips (R)

Thursday, October 9 at 6:30 p.m. State Treasurer Gary Anderson (D) and Tate Reeves (R)

Thursday, October 16 at 8 p.m. Hour-long Gubernatorial candidates special Incumbent Ronnie Musgrove (D) and Haley Barbour (R)

Thursday, October 23 at 6:30 p.m. Attorney General Jim Hood (D) and Scott Newton (R)

Thursday, October 30 at 8 p.m. Hour-long Lieutenant Governor candidates special

Incumbent Amy Tuck (R) and Barbara Blackmon (D)

All Statewide Live election specials will be simulcast on the public
radio stations of the Mississippi Broadcasting Networks.

The candidates representing other parties in the same five statewide
offices have been invited to appear on the First Friday Election Special,
airing October 31 at 8:30 p.m. on the public television stations of the
Mississippi Broadcasting Networks:

· Gubernatorial candidates John Thomas Cripps (Constitution Party);
Sherman Lee Dillon (Green Party); Shawn O'Hara (Reform Party)

· Lieutenant Governor candidate Anna J. Reives (Reform Party)

· State Treasurer candidate Lee Dilworth (Reform Party)

· Agriculture Commissioner candidate Bob Claunch (Reform Party)

Thanks to all our new JFP VIPs!

COVID-19 has closed down the main sources of the JFP's revenue -- concerts, festivals, fundraisers, restaurants and bars. If everyone reading this article gives $5 or more, we should be able to continue publishing through the crisis. Please pay what you can to keep us reporting and publishing.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus