"Miss. Parole Board: 70 Days, 3 Chairmen" by Politics Blog | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

Politics Blog

Miss. Parole Board: 70 Days, 3 Chairmen

Barely a full two months after taking over as chairman of the Mississippi Parole Board, Doug Davis is leaving for a new job as Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann's chief-of-staff.

Davis was appointed to the parole board earlier this year and ascended to the chairmanship on Aug. 1. He replaced Malcolm McMillin -- Hinds County's former sheriff -- who spent about 15 months as head of the parole board before retiring.

Through a news release, Hosemann said: “Doug has long served the citizens of the State of Mississippi ... No doubt his legislative experience, extensive background in policy, and commitment to our State will be an asset to our Agency."

Davis, a former state senator from DeSoto County, was getting paid $70,000 per year to run the parole board.

Gov. Phil Bryant appointed current board member Steven Pickett as the new chairman. Filling Pickett's slot will be Pearl police officer Butch Townsend.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus