"Chamber Names Sales-Tax Commission Picks" by Jackblog | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS


Chamber Names Sales-Tax Commission Picks

Here's the full release from the Chamber:

Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership Announces Commission Appointments

With the recent passage of the Jackson Local Option Sales Tax Referendum, much needed work on Jackson’s infrastructure will be addressed. The next step to address the infrastructure issues is the creation of an Oversight Commission.

With input from the City of Jackson and other professional advisors, the Commission will establish a master plan for infrastructure projects to be accomplished, as well as ensuring all expenditures of the money collected comply with the master plan.

The Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership Board of Directors has confirmed its four appointees to the Commission. These four individuals will be joined by six additional members selected by City of Jackson Mayor Chokwe Lumumba, Governor Phil Bryant, Lt. Governor Tate Reeves and Speaker Phillip Gunn.

The Partnership’s representatives are:

• Dr. Beverly Hogan, President of Tougaloo College and former Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership Board Member • Duane A. O’Neill, President/CEO of the Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership • Dr. Carolyn Meyers, President of Jackson State University and current Greater Jackson Partnership Board Member • Mr. Godwin Dafe, Small Business Owner in Jackson

“We take the responsibility of these appointments very seriously” stated GJCP Chairman Andy Taggart. “After a thorough vetting process, we feel these Jackson residents will serve the community well on this important endeavor," Taggart added.

comments powered by Disqus