"Jackson Summer Music Mix" by Music | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS


Jackson Summer Music Mix

Tomorrow night, Hal & Mal's Red Room will host the first "Jackson Summer Music Mix." In short, there will be seven different bands performing with all of the door money ($7) going to local music charity K.I.D.S (Kindness In Donating Sound). But there's so much more than just another music show.

The seven bands are comprised of local musicians that put their names into a hat. Their names were drawn and a "band" was formed. These bands were then given eight weeks to write and rehearse three original songs. The results will be on display at tomorrow night's show.

Natalie Long spearheaded the project. She organized all the participants and put the bands together based on what instruments they played.

For example, my band is called Dirty White Noise. I play bass along with guitarists Justin Patterson, Peary Forrest & Brian Brock. Our drummer is Jay Herring. We had never played together before. After several rehearsals, we have three brand spanking new songs to premiere at the show. I can honestly say that am thrilled to be sharing the stage with my new musical brethren.

The spirit behind this project is unique: create some new bands and music and give to worthy charity. K.I.D.S. works hard to provide area youth with musical instruments for education. This ranges from repair to new instruments.

Hopefully, this is the start of a new annual event. For the musicians who didn't participate this time, you should come out and cheer on the rest of us. Overall, it should be a fun event and definitely something different.

The Jackson Summer Music Mix begins at 8 p.m. in the Red Room at Hal & Mal's, 200 Commerce St, Jackson, MS, July 26, 2014.

Here is a complete list of the bands and members:

  1. The Mississippi Grifters (Chase Waters, David Ware, Scott Albert Johnson, Joey Plunkett, Lindley McKeller, Blake Thomas)
  2. Joe Carroll and Ron Blaylock
  3. Northside Overdrive (Destin Davis, PJ Pope, Eric Clark, Jeremy Gunalda)
  4. TanSanta (Douglas Pannell, Seth Thomas, Jereme King, Jordan Shotts, Cody Smith)
  5. Jim and the Piercings (Josh Cavanaugh, Brad Carter, Drew McKercher, Terry Lungrin, Jim Pierce)
  6. Dirty White Noise (Jay Herring, Peary Forrest, Justin Patterson, Brian Brock, Tommy Burton)
  7. The Dominant 7th (Gahd Cop, Jason Stanfield, Spencer Jones, Jimm Brumley, Dan Throgmorton)

http://jacksonfreepress.com/users/photos/2014/jul/25/18207/">http://jacksonfreepress.media.clients.ellingtoncms.com/img/photos/2014/07/25/Summermusicmix_t500x357.jpg?95f10b65c98b9182265623b72cbddcaf5af8f93d" alt="The Jackson Summer Music Mix is tomorrow night at Hal & Mal's.">

http://jacksonfreepress.media.clients.ellingtoncms.com/img/photos/2014/07/25/Summermusicmix_t500x357.jpg?95f10b65c98b9182265623b72cbddcaf5af8f93d">The Jackson Summer Music Mix is tomorrow night at Hal & Mal's. by tommyburton


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus