Sean Brewer | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

Sean Brewer

Photo courtesy Sean Brewer

Photo courtesy Sean Brewer

Last Friday, Jan. 9, the new College Football Hall of Fame Class was announced in Dallas. This year's class of 17 members includes 15 players and two coaches.

Most of the media attention went to disgraced former Ohio State University coach Jim Tressel, current legendary Kansas State University head coach Bill Snyder and former University of Oklahoma linebacker Brian "The Boz" Bosworth.

While those three took up the majority of the headlines, if you were to scan the list you would notice other big names in college and professional football. Mixed in the middle of all these players from larger programs is the name Sean Brewer, who was a defensive end out of Millsaps College from 1989 to 1992. A Division III football player from a small college in Mississippi busted through and gets to join with some of the biggest and most well-known names in college football in the hall of fame.

Even though Brewer is from a small school, there is no question that he belongs in the college football hall of fame alongside the greats of the sport. He rewrote the Majors' defensive record books on his way to becoming one of the most dominant defensive players in Division III history.

During his time at Millsaps, Brewer amassed 435 tackles, which puts him in second in Majors history and ranks him fourth in Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference history. He is Millsaps' all-time leader in solo tackles with 332 and in sacks with 52.

In his senior season, Brewer set the single-season record for most solo tackles for both the Majors and the SCAC with 99. He also set Majors' single season record with 15 sacks.

Brewer is the only defensive lineman to be named All-American First Team three times and the only SCAC player to ever receive that honor. He is just one of five players ever to be named a three time All-American in Division III history.

He accomplished this feat from his sophomore to his senior seasons. Brewer was also a Champion USA First Team All-American in 1991 and 1992.

The most dominant defensive player in SCAC history, the conference named Brewer defensive player of the year twice in 1991 and 1992. Brewer was also named first team All-SCAC all four years of his career.

How great was Brewer's career at Millsaps? Well, the USA Football Network in 2013 decided to name their award for Division III Defensive Lineman of the Year in Brewer's honor.

The SCAC named Brewer to its 15th Anniversary team, and Millsaps put him in its Hall of Fame in 2004. He is only the third CAC/SCAC and only Millsaps player elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

As much as a success as he was on the gridiron, Brewer was also a success off the field, earning his Bachelor's of Science from Millsaps in 1992. He went on to have an outstanding career in education.

In 2010, Brewer was named NASSP/Virco assistant principal of the year for the state of Mississippi while working at Ridgeland High School. He currently serves as principal of Rosa Scott High School in Madison.

Joining Brewer as members of the 2015 College Football Hall of Fame Class are Ricky Williams, running back, University of Texas; Zach Thomas, linebacker, Texas Tech University, Lincoln Kennedy, offensive tackle, University of Washington; Brian Bosworth, linebacker, University of Oklahoma, Trev Alberts, linebacker, University Nebraska; Dick Jauron, running back, Yale University; Wes Chandler, split end, University of Florida; Art Still, defensive end, University of Kentucky; Michael Payton, quarterback, Marshall University; Rob Lytle, running back, University of Michigan; Clinton Jones, halfback, Michigan State University; Thom Gatewood, split end, University of Notre Dame; Rugen Brown, offensive tackle, University of Pittsburgh; Bob Breunig, linebacker, Arizona State University; Jim Tressel, head coach, Youngstown State University/Ohio State University; and Bill Snyder, head coach, Kansas State University.

Brewer and the rest of the 2015 Class will be officially inducted on Dec. 8 at the annual National Football Foundation Awards ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Like independent media outlets around the world, the Jackson Free Press works hard to produce important content on a limited budget. We'd love your help! Become a JFP VIP member today and/or donate to our journalism fund. Thanks for considering a JFP VIP membership or one-time support.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus