Creative Outlets for College Students | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

Creative Outlets for College Students

Whether you believe it or not, everyone has a creative side. College can take a toll on you, both mentally and physically, from the anxieties and the expectations of academic excellence, so why not allow yourself some creative rejuvenation? Whether it's painting or drawing or other things, there are ways to get your creative juices flowing. Finding different outlets in and around your college community are some of the best ways to de-stress and have fun. Here are some of the places Jacksonians voted for in Best of Jackson.

Libraries and bookstores

Don't worry. You don't need to spend a ton of money to explore your own creativity. Parks, bookstores and libraries with convenient hideaway places can be perfect for finding "me time" and channeling the creative beast within.

Best Local Place to Buy Books: Lemuria Books (4465 Interstate 55 N., Suite 202, 601-366-7619, lemuriabooks.com)

Finalists: The Book Rack (1491 Canton Mart Square, Suite 7, 601-956-5086; 584 Springridge Road, Suite C, Clinton, 601-924-9020) / Offbeat (151 Wesley Ave., 601-376-9404) / The Book Shelf (637 Highway 51, Suite AA, Ridgeland, 601-853-9225) / N.U.T.S. (114 Millsaps Ave., 601-355-7458)

Theater

Acting is fun and allows you express yourself through one of the most creative ways.

Best Local Live Theater Group: New Stage Theatre (1100 Carlisle St., 601-948-3531, newstagetheatre.com)

Finalists: Fondren Theatre Workshop (fondrentheatreworkshop.com) / Black Rose Theatre (103 Black St., Brandon, 601-825-1293) / Actors' Playhouse (121 Paul Truitt Lane, Pearl, actorsplayhouse.net) / "Mentee" movie cast and crew

Gardening and nature walks

Gardening or even owning plants relieve stress, and also, being outside makes you happy.

Community Garden/Nature Attraction: Mississippi Museum of Natural Science (2148 Riverside Dr., 601-576-6000, museum.mdwfp.com)

Finalists: Art Garden at the Mississippi Museum of Art (380 S. Lamar St., 601-960-1515, msmuseumart.org) / The Jackson Zoo (2918 W. Capitol St., 601-352-2580) / Mynelle Gardens (4736 Clinton Blvd., 601-960-1894) / Clinton Community Nature Center (617 Dunton Road, Clinton, 601-926-1104, clintonnaturecenter.org)

Best Garden Supply/Nursery: Lakeland Yard and Garden Center (4210 Lakeland Drive, 601-939-7304)

Finalists: Green Oak Garden Center (5009 Old Canton Road, 601-956-5017; 1067 Highland Colony Parkway, Suite E, Ridgeland, 601-707-9440; greenoakflorist.com) / Callaway's Yard and Garden (839 S. Pear Orchard Road, Ridgeland, 601-957-1731, callawaysonline.com) / Martinson's Garden Works (650 Highway 51, Ridgeland, 601-856-3078, martinsonsms.com) / Hutto's Home & Garden Center (1320 Ellis Ave., 601-973-2277)

Dancing and dance classes

Dance release endorphins in your brain, which can relieve any stressful situation. Get your body moving.

Best Dance Studio: Ballet Magnificat! (5406 Interstate 55 N., 601-977-1001, balletmagnificat.com)

Finalists: Mississippi Metropolitan Dance Academy (110 Homestead Drive, Madison, 601-853-4508, msmetroballet.com) / Ballet 
Mississippi (201 E. Pascagoula St., Suite 106, 601-960-1560, balletms.com) / Lindsey Claire Dance Company (4149 S. Siwell Road, 601-398-3786, lcdanceco.com) / Salsa Mississippi (605 Duling Ave., 601-213-6355, salsamississippi.com)

Exercising and yoga

Exercise is also another great stress reliever and allows you to focus more throughout the day. The important thing to remember is that creativity is a way to become in tune with yourself and your emotions. The possibilities are endless and you should try to make time for these things as often as possible.

Best Yoga Studio: Butterfly Yoga (3025 N. State St., 601-594-2313, butterflyyoga.net)

Finalists: Joyflow Yoga (7048 Old Canton Road, Suite 2F, Ridgeland, 601-613-4317, joyflowyoga.com) StudiOm Yoga (665 Duling Ave., 601-209-6325, studiomyogaofms.com) / Tara Yoga (200 Park Circle, Suite 4, Flowood, 601-720-2337, tara-yoga.net)

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus