Ferriss Award Finalists | Jackson Free Press | Jackson, MS

Ferriss Award Finalists

The three finalists for the first Ferriss Award, which goes to Mississippi's top college baseball player, were named on Wednesday. They are: Mississippi State outfielder Brad Corley, Ole Miss first baseman/pitcher Stephen Head and Southern Miss second baseman Jarrett Hoffpauir. The award will be presented on Monday, May 17, at 11:45 a.m. The ceremony will be held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum on Lakeland Drive in Jackson. The winner was selected in voting by the major league scouts who cover Mississippi. The award is named for Boo Ferriss, the legendary former Delta State coach and Boston Red Sox Hall of Famer. For tickets, call (601) 982-8264 or 1-800-280-3263. Who's going to win? Doctor S says Stephen Head should make room in his trophy case.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

comments powered by Disqus